Fiction Friday – Zoya

“Zoya, wake up!” my mother called. “Zoya, hurry up, you’re getting late for school beta.”
“Huh?” I woke up thinking I belonged to a different world.
Then, my mother sprinkled some ice cold water on my face and I realized it was the same mean world and I had to get ready for that gloomy and rude place which they call school.
“Mummy, I think I have a headache,” I cried.
“Great, not again. Don’t give me stupid excuses for not going to school, okay?” she said.
“But, mummy, I’m really not feeling well today.”
“Zoya, please. Everyday you give me stupid excuses. Tell me, why don’t you feel like going to school?”
“It’s nothing. Fine, I’ll get ready.”
“You better get ready. You are well aware of the fact that I struggle to pay for your education.”

So, I had to go to that place again and look at the faces of those rude boys and girls.
As I entered that wretched classroom, Rahul, the guy I hated the most, started making faces at me.
“Oh! Look who’s here in school again,” he teased. “The girl who should be washing dishes in someone’s house.”
I felt my cheeks getting hot.
“Tell me, Zoya, where is your mother cleaning the floors these days? You know, actually, my mother is looking for someone to do the household chores. One of our servants fled.”

Leave a Reply

